Zoom sur Carol-Ann

Posted 2 December 2022 by Rinaldi in Once upon a time

Today, we’re chatting with Carol-Ann D’Amour, art director of the Rinaldi-Maestro agency.

What made you want to work in advertising?

I grew up in a slightly bohemian family on my father’s side, who taught me to look critically at things like advertising, music, and culture, to see them as both communication tools and a reflection of society. Personally, I see advertising as a force that can have a positive impact on the world. I think that good advertising takes the time to create an emotional bond with its audience: that’s how I would define “smart advertising,” and that’s the kind of ad I want to create. I want to make audiences feel understood and validated.

What is the first ad you fell in love with?

I’ll always remember the milk producers’ campaign, “Natural source of comfort.” It was a beautifully designed 360 marketing campaign, very touching and adorable, with old French songs and snippets of moments from daily life. They’d even displayed billboards with real knitted blankets in the subway!

What is your role at the Rinaldi agency?

As the art director, my goal is to understand the client’s needs so I can communicate the right message to the right people. Even though I mostly work with visuals, I also collaborate with copywriters to coordinate the efforts of all the creatives and make sure we’re all progressing in the right direction. According to me, a project is a success when the objectives have been met, when the client is happy with the result, and when my team has had fun working on it.

What was your dream job as a child?

I’ve always had an entrepreneurial spirit: I knew I wanted to be in a position where I could make decisions, and the world of marketing and communications fascinated me. I wanted an opportunity to make a humble impact on the world, without necessarily knowing how to make a career out of it.

Since we’re in an Italian agency, what is your favourite type of coffee?

Lattes, simply because I’m obsessed with milk to an almost unhealthy degree. I guess the “Natural source of comfort” ad really stuck with me!

What are your hobbies outside of the agency?

I really love sports, whether it’s biking, snowboarding, or fishing. I’m also a big bookworm; for a few years after I moved to Montreal, I didn’t even have a television, just a huge pile of books!

What is your biggest source of inspiration?

Human beings: psychology, culture, differences, etc. I love talking with someone and seeing their eyes light up when they speak about something that really captivates them.

Zoom sur Carol-Ann

Affiché 2 décembre 2022 par Rinaldi dans Le parcours de

Aujourd’hui, on discute avec Carol-Ann D’Amour, directrice artistique de l’agence Rinaldi-Maestro.

Qu’est-ce qui t’a amenée à travailler dans la publicité?

J’ai grandi dans une famille un peu bohème du côté de mon père, qui m’a appris à porter un regard critique sur la publicité, la musique, la culture, à les voir comme des outils de communication et un reflet de la société. Personnellement, je vois la publicité comme une force qui peut avoir un impact positif sur le monde. Je pense que de la bonne publicité prend le temps de créer un lien émotionnel avec son audience : c’est comme ça que je définirais la « pub intelligente », et c’est ce genre de pub que je veux créer. Je veux que l’audience se sente comprise, validée.

Quelle est la première publicité qui t’a fait triper?

Je me souviendrai toujours de la campagne des producteurs de lait, « Source naturelle de réconfort ». C’était une belle campagne 360 adorable, touchante, avec de vieilles chansons françaises et plein de petits aperçus du quotidien. Ils avaient même affiché des panneaux publicitaires avec de vraies couvertures tricotées dans le métro!

Quel est ton rôle à l’agence Rinaldi?

En tant que directrice artistique, mon objectif est de comprendre les besoins du client pour communiquer le bon message aux bonnes personnes. Même si je travaille surtout avec des visuels, je collabore aussi avec des rédacteurs pour coordonner les efforts de tous les créatifs et m’assurer qu’on avance dans la bonne direction. Selon moi, un projet est réussi quand les objectifs ont été atteints, que le client est heureux du résultat, et que mon équipe a eu du plaisir pendant le processus.

Que voulais-tu faire quand tu étais petite?

J’ai toujours eu l’esprit entrepreneur : je savais que je voulais occuper un poste où je pourrai prendre des décisions, et le monde de la communication et du marketing me fascinait. Je voulais une opportunité de pouvoir humblement impacter le monde, sans trop savoir comment en faire un métier.

Comme on est dans une agence italienne, quel est ton café préféré?

Un latte, tout simplement parce que je raffole du lait à un degré presque maladif. J’imagine que la pub « Source de réconfort » m’est restée dans la tête!

Quels sont tes passe-temps en dehors de l’agence?

J’aime beaucoup le sport, que ce soit le vélo, la planche à neige ou la pêche. Je suis aussi une grande lectrice ; pendant quelques années après avoir déménagé à Montréal, je n’avais pas de télévision, seulement une montagne de livres!

Qu’est-ce qui t’inspire le plus?

L’être humain : la psychologie, la culture, les différences, etc. J’adore discuter avec une personne et voir une étincelle s’allumer dans ses yeux quand elle parle de quelque chose qui la captive vraiment.